At least I got an A

Posted: 12/15/2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

So in an eariler blog (So that was awkward…) I mentioned in a speech class i took i got nervous and screamed “Don’t fucking recycle” and I just realized I never explained myself… Ok a couple years ago when I was still in college, I took this speech class that focused on public speaking. And I thought it would be a good idea because 1, I needed the credit and 2, I used to always do interviews and shit about my various life experiances and shit. Mainly radio and newspaper, I’ve done a few tv and online interviews (some of which you could probably find on Youtube) , but that’s not the point. I thought that it might help to take a class so I can present myself better. Anyway, we had an impromptu speech. I decided that my topic was going to be about not conforming and shit. Well I get up there and say that I don’t believe in doing what people say. And I don’t believing in changing yourself because it makes people uncomforable. And I started to say how just because the media says you should be a size 2 and blonde doesnt mean you have to and just because not all guys look like Brad Pitt doesnt mean that they arent worth anything and just because everyone and their mother is going ‘green’, doesn’t mean you have to. (an this is where I fuck up) (im screaming this next part by the way) IF YOU DON’T BELIEVE IN GOING GREEN, THEN DON’T FUCKING RECYCLE!!!! Then Reality hit me and I was like ‘holy fuck balls I did not just scream don’t fucking recycle in front of like 30 classmates and the sub’ and I just said ‘I’m really really sorry. I didn’t mean to say that.’ and went to sit down because there was no saving myself from that. Besides the class erupted in laughter and clapping and total chaos. And the next class we got a ginormus lecture on the use of profanity and how to effectively communicate our thought and feelings. Needless to say we never again had another impromptu speech. So I consider that a win.

Leave a Reply

